Book Review; Secret of the Rose Series

7:50 AM

This is wonderful series by Michael Phillips, one of my favorite authors of all time. In this series of four books, Mr. Phillips follows Sabina, the daughter of a German Baron on her journey of faith and adventure. The series begins with a peaceful and united Germany just before the beginning of World War II. Sabina, who lives with her parents on their large estate, meets a young American and his father, and their lives become intertwined. Through wars, walls and men separate them for a time; they always manage to find each other again. The story is full of godly men and women, adventure, and a friendship that buds into a rich romance.

These books are for older readers (mid teens and up), because of some of the things the family goes through. They show them going through some hard things because of what they believe. However, he does not go into so much detail as to make in it unreadable, if you know what I mean. Also, there are some sections where they get into some lengthy spiritual discussions. They fit right into the story, and most of the time I didn’t feel like I was reading a sermon but, after a few pages, I skipped ahead sometimes.

One of the best things about these books was the faith of the main characters. They had such wonderful and amazing yet believable faith that I came away from this book refreshed. Another thing was the story. It was a gripping tale, and its style reminded me very much of the older books I love so much.

So if you are looking for a great read I would recommend this series.

The Eleventh Hour (Book 1)

A Rose Remembered (Book 2)

Escape to Freedom (Book 3)

Dawn of Liberty (Book 4, the last one)

Note; Although I really like most of Michael Philips, there are some that I do not. As with any author or book, you need make sure it meets your standards or ask your parents if you can read the book.

You Might Also Like