Tales of Taelis Series

12:04 PM

*post contains affiliate links*

I wrote the Tales of Taelis series with 11-15 year-olds in mind. When I was that age, I was reading at an adult level an struggling to find good books. I also wanted stories that dealt with tough struggles like doubt, selfishness, and loving those who are hard to love in a realistic and godly manner. 
These books deal with hardship and real issues of the heart in a godly way.
A couple of the books contain very mild romances. This means that physical attraction is not to focus and physical contact is bearly mentioned and never goes beyond saying a married couple kissed.
There is some violence, but nothing overly descriptive. While battles and fights happen, blood and gore are not lingered upon.
The goal of this series is to be safe to hand to young people 11 and up without parents worrying about the content.
This series can be read out of order. Each book stand's alone. 
This is a kingdom fantasy series (meaning no magic, feels like historical fiction)

#0.5 ~ Admirable
William returns home to find his family threatened with attack from a neighboring earl. Will he be able to protect his sister and the rest of his family from this threat? Will he be able to trust God no matter what?
A prequel story for Adventures and Adversities.

One day Alditha is content living with her family, the next she is taking her friend's place to serve at the king’s castle. Her father's final instructions, to keep smiling and to do what is right, will be harder to live out than she ever imagined. She will face a royal nephew who delights in making people miserable, an angry servant girl who will stop at nothing to get what she wants, and noblemen who plot murder. Will she be able to keep the promise she made to her father? Will she find the faith she longs for during all her Adventures and Adversities?

Eleanor is happy to be living with her brother and sister-in-law. She loves helping with her mischievous nephew, John. When John gets away from her one day, it sets off a chain of events that will change her life.
A short story of faith, friendship, and family. A prequel story for Brothers and Betrayal.

A boy, running for his life
A princess, trying to save her people
And an archer who seeks to defend the defenseless
Bryon, after witnessing his brother’s murder, takes his sisters and flees into the woods to a mysterious figure known as The Archer who lives there. But though he finds temporary safety, bitterness threatens his heart.
Brianna only wants to help the people of Taelis, but her father, the king, seems bent on making life hard for all of them. She works tirelessly to save the kingdom from war, while secretly helping The Archer.
Join the adventure in… Brothers and Betrayal

#2.5 Ceaseless
Kindle | Audiobook coming soon | Goodreads
Alfred has been told by his mother his whole life he is a prince, but he never believed her. His family are peasants and never ceases to be a disgrace to the community. He and his sister squabble, his mother complains, and his father long ago deserted them. Alfred hopes the quest to find some bandits will give him a perfect opportunity to redeem his family name, or slip away just like his father did.

A short story of faith, redemption, and hope.

Catherine is going with her mother and younger siblings to the mountains to hide from the coming war. While she fears what might happen she is looking forward to some time away from her twin brother, with whom she often fights. One foolish act changes all their plans, and one story caused not only confusion, but more fighting. 

Christopher does not believe his father’s story that they are descended from royalty. He is sure the story his father tells cannot be true. However, he is forced to go to the mountain castle of Coraway along with his mother and siblings. Will his father ever see him as a man? Will he and his twin ever be able to stop fighting?

Little do Catherine and Christopher realize that they hold the key to Taelis’ future in their hands. Will they discover the truth before it is too late?

#3.5 Defined
Jacob’s brother is king and married. His sister is about to be. His younger sister is happy in her home. But where does he fit in? Is he too young for the job his brother has given him? 

A story of faith, family, and identity. A sequel short story to Courage and Corruption.

Kindle | Paperback coming soon | Audiobook | Goodreads

Some dreams will be dashed, and their devotion will be tested.

Dara's life is full of farm work and worries, especially now that her older brother is a priest in a far off city. Yet she still has time to dream of the life she hopes will someday be. She dreams of marrying her dear friend and the worries of her family ending. Now, the selfishness of one person threatens her very way of life.

Dresden's initial excitement about living a life devoted to the service of God quickly is dashed on the rocks of reality. The life of a priest is nothing like what he imagined. To make matters worse, he finds out his family back in his home village is on the brink of disaster. Torn between his vows and his love for his family, what will he choose?

#4.4 Elapse 
The years pass quickly, but through them, Dresden sees a courageous boy become a powerful young man and an abandoned child grown into a fearful woman. In watching them, he catches glimpses of the future. 
This short story takes in the years between the books Dreams and Devotion and Escape and Endurance.

Kindle | Paperback coming soonGoodreads

Edna believes herself to be a worthless servant.
Sir Andrew knows himself to be the most respected and valuable knight.
One event will cause both to discover where their value truly lies.

When Princess Gail is on her way to visit friends, some men kidnap the princess to demand a ransom. They don’t realize that they’ve made a mistake and who they have is not the pampered princess, but her faithful servant, Edna. Carried far from home, Edna knows that no matter what she does, she won’t survive.

Sir Andrew sets off to rescue the princess, taking no time to assess what has truly happened or to allow his men to help him. What should have been a quick and heroic mission turns into a long journey that is full of dangers, obstacles, and trials. Will he be forced to turn back or will he be able to make it to the tower where the princess is being held?

#5.5 (Unnamed)
Stage in writing process: Planning

#6 Faithfulness and Failure
Stage in writing process: Planning

6.5 (Unnamed)
Stage in writing process: Planning

#7 Guilt and Grace
Stage in writing process: Planning

A total of 24 books is planned in this series.

You Might Also Like